Day 7: What is a R.E.N.E.W.E.D T.E.A.C.H.E.R.?

Well, we are at the end of the first week of the “What is a R.E.N.E.W.E.D T.E.A.C.H.E.R.?” series. Today, we focus on the letter D.

As RenewED Teachers, we must leave no room for chance. We must:

DARE TO BE INTENTIONAL

I went to a networking event hosted by KyShira Moffett, back in June where I met someDay 7.jpg
amazing boss females dominating in a plethora of fields, primarily from the City of Pittsburgh. I was the only classroom teacher there. Nevertheless, as I always do, I turned this day and the weekend into a learning experience.

I had the opportunity to meet, LaChelle Binion. She is the author of the blog, The Kismet Life, and the Director of Alumni Engagement at Carlow University. As soon as I met her, I
knew the description of her, by Angelica Cooper (a high school friend I recently reconnected with), was a too legit! I immediately saw how genuine, passionate, and simply put, kind, LaChelle was. I could see she was living her passion. I felt comfortable in her presence.

Krystal and LaChelle.jpg

LaChelle and I at the Hustle HER Way Summit: Slay in Your Lane Networking Event at V Lounge, June 9th

Ms. Binion was one of the speakers at the conference I attended the day following the networking event. She said a lot of things I agreed with, and one thing that really stuck with me was when she said, “Get strategic — Be intentional. Think about goals  and what you want to do and strategies, how you are going to get there.”

Because I feel teaching is my purpose and my passion, every conference I attend or class I take that is not directly related to education, I find a way to make it connect.

While LaChelle is up there saying, “Be intentional!” I am sitting in my chair, all in my head, asking myself:

 

 

Is what I do in my classroom intentional?

Am I being strategic?

Am I thinking about the goals I have for my students as I plan?

What are those goals?

What strategies will I use to help them meet/exceed these goals?

I also had these same questions about this blog, and this is one of the reasons I began this series. But that’s another topic for a different post.

This year in my classroom, I will ask myself these questions daily, as I am on a journey to become a RenewED Teacher. I will DARE TO BE INTENTIONAL in everything I do. What does this mean?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I do many of these things, as I am sure you do as well, I feel that there is always room for improvement. As I stated earlier this summer on one of my Facebook posts,

AIU.PNG

With that, everyone, I DARE YOU TO BE INTENTIONAL.

As we continue to learn and grow together, I am interested in your thoughts and ideas too. Since I have dared you, I would love for you to share what you plan to be intentional about this school year and in general. Leave your thoughts in the comments! I cannot wait to hear from you!

Until then, Happy Teaching!

Krystal L. Smith, The RenewED Teacher

If you like, love, or enjoyed what you have read follow the blog and follow me on PinterestLinkedIn, and Facebook. 

 

3 thoughts on “Day 7: What is a R.E.N.E.W.E.D T.E.A.C.H.E.R.?

  1. Pingback: Did You Miss It? | The RenewED Teacher

Leave a Reply

