3 Ways for Teachers to Check-In and get Checked-Up!

If you have not already done so, you will probably be going to see your doctor to get a flu shot soon, or some other immunization to make sure you and your family stay healthy as we fall deeper in autumn and near winter. But this is not the only check-up you need at this time.

This is just one way to take care of yourself. But there are many other ways in which to so.

Now that many of us are 4-6-8 weeks into the school year, I’m sure the honeymoon phase has ended for some of you, while others are just trying to keep their heads above water with keeping up with paperwork, school events, and family and friend social desires or obligations. But do you notice what I haven’t mentioned in this paragraph. You have been doing your best to take care of all of these other things, but you left yourself out of the equation.

20161003_223239

Image courtesy of Pixabay and font Pic Collage.

It’s Time for Your 4-6-8 Week Check-Up!

If you are feeling burnt out and tired, it’s time to take some time for yourself. Take time to ease your mind, body, and soul with these tips!

 

22370228761_1c2ff017c0_o.png

Image courtesy of flickr.

Ease Your Mind

  • Look for positive things each day.
  • Make positive phone calls home to your students. It helps build rapports with families and students.
  • Reread notes from current and former students about how you are the best teacher ever!
  • Give a compliment, and watch you get a compliment.
  • Read an inspiring book such as Awakened or Unshakeable by Angela Watson. If you are a wife, read The Happy Wives Club by Fawn Weaver (I read it over the summer and it has contributed tremendously to my positive frame of mind).
  • Try to complain less and try to develop an attitude of gratitude. (I often have to tell myself that things could be worse when something bad happens. This often helps me to find something to be thankful for. I am not always successful, but 90% of the time it works).
  • Watch a mindless movie or show.
  • Pray and/or Meditate. I just finished a 21-Day Prayer Challenge hosted by Linda Kardamis over at Teach 4 the Heart. I prayed everyday for different people and different reasons, and it felt internally rewarding to do something so personal and discrete for others.
work-out-1539614_1280.png

Image courtesy of Pixabay.

Build a Beautiful Body Inside and Out

  • I workout at least 3-5 days a week. When I say workout, I mean lift heavy weights and run as fast as possible. If I’m not sweating, I might as well go home and sit on the couch. My motto when at the gym is: Go hard or go home! This takes care of my mind and body! But this is not for everyone. Do what works for you, or try something new. A co-worker of mine will be hosting a Pound Workout after school this week. I will be there. I am excited to try it!
  • I have a co-worker who takes a bath after work every day. Heaven! I wish I could do this, but there are other things I want or need to do more. I think I will start with once per week.
  • Watch your diet. (But you can cheat every once in a while! This is why I don’t have six pack yet.:-)) You would not put olive oil in your car to fill the tank, so be just as mindful about what you fill your tank with.
  • Get a massage. I am overdue for one. While everyone does not enjoy being touched, let alone by a stranger, there are other options. Maybe start with a facial, hand or foot massage. Then maybe do a body-wrap. There are ways to ease into a full body massage. A good friend and co-worker of mine, took about 4-5 years to get a full body massage, and now she gets some form of a massage every year! Check-out some options at Massage Envy which is located all over the country.
live-511556_1280.png

Image courtesy of Pixabay.

Satisfy Your Soul

Teaching is your passion. I get it. But when teaching gets touch, and it will, you will need an outlet that will satisfy your soul.

  • Bake – I work with some talented women that have made cupcakes for my wedding and my sister’s bridal shower and received rave reviews. These are their other passions.
  • Knit, quilt, create clothing or other products – Another teacher in my building who used to be a Zumba Instructor, now has an Etsy store. Her creations are amazing. This is her other passion.
  • Create baskets – After attending one of my friends/co-workers bridal showers, I fell in love with making gift baskets. She and her mom buy baskets from random places in order to have them readily available for when it is time to make a gift. I love seeing her creations, and getting ideas from her, when I make them.
  • Join a band – If you can sing or play an instrument, why are you not sharing your talents in some capacity?
  • Start a blog – Wow! I used to love writing in high school and in college. As I continue to write these posts, I can’t imagine what I would do if I were not writing my thoughts, ideas, fears, and attempts at renewing myself down in some format.
  • Spend time with family and friends.
  • Attend a religious service. (Maybe visit a service with a different denomination.)
  • Do what it is that makes you happy. Find that one thing that it is work that does not feel like work. That is what this blog does for me. 🙂

So teachers, are you ready for your 4-6-8 week check-up? Don’t try to do everything on this list. Maybe start by picking one idea from each section and implementing them into your life one at a time.

As wise teacher sent me a text a few weeks ago. The text said, “You have to take care of yourself before you can take care of others.” I agree 100%.

So teachers, as we continue to grow and renew our passion for teaching, let’s follow the directions of all flight attendants: “Secure your own oxygen mask before assisting others.”

Do you have other ideas to add to this list? I’d love to hear them. Please feel free to share your ideas in the comments section, and I will add them to a future post! Also, remember to follow the blog or on Pinterest

Until then, Happy Teaching!

Krystal L. Smith, The RenewED Teacher

 

2 thoughts on “3 Ways for Teachers to Check-In and get Checked-Up!

Leave a Reply

